Compare hair restoration clinics on what you can verify

Independent, credential-based comparisons of hair restoration clinics in the United States. No star ratings, no pay-to-rank — registries, sources and dates on every claim.

22clinics verified
10US cities compared
100%claims sourced & dated
0rankings sold
Browse all cities How we verify

Most comparisons of hair transplant clinics rank them by opinion. We do not. We compare only checkable facts — board certification, society membership, who holds the instrument during your surgery, and whether any price is published anywhere. Every claim carries its source and the date we checked it; anything we cannot confirm is marked “not stated”, and clinics can request corrections any day of the week.

Cities covered

Nashville 5 Charlotte 4 Indianapolis 1 Kansas City 1 Richmond 2 Raleigh 2 Columbus 1 Salt Lake City 2 Louisville 2 Milwaukee 2
5 clinics

Nashville, TN

Independent practices hold most of the local search results.

4 clinics

Charlotte, NC

National chains occupy a third of local results.

1 clinic

Indianapolis, IN

Per-graft promotional pricing is common in local advertising.

1 clinic

Kansas City, MO

Mixed market: dedicated hair practices and multi-service surgical groups.

2 clinics

Richmond, VA

Smaller market; many patients travel for treatment.

2 clinics

Raleigh, NC

Chains dominate search; disclosure among the independents varies sharply.

1 clinic

Columbus, OH

The most chain-dominated search results of any market we reviewed.

2 clinics

Salt Lake City, UT

Two local models: a multi-city FUE brand with a named local physician, and a facial-plastics group.

2 clinics

Louisville, KY

No dedicated hair-only practice — multi-service plastic surgery groups carry this market.

2 clinics

Milwaukee, WI

A named 25-year surgeon vs an anonymous multi-city brand — and weekly payments instead of prices.

Compare by service

All 10 markets

FUE

One name, three different who-performs models. City by city.

7 of 22 clinics

FUT (strip)

The technique most clinics dropped — and the two-quote comparison it enables.

8 practices

NeoGraft

The most common device — with the index's only two published prices.

1 practice

SmartGraft

NeoGraft's competitor device, stated in the Columbus market.

All services, compared on what clinics state →

New: Hair Transplant Transparency Report 2026 — only 13% of reviewed clinics publish a price, 78% state no hair-specific credential. The full disclosure data, free to cite.

What we evaluate

CriterionWeightWhat it means
Who performs the surgeryHighestThis is the question the ISHRS puts first. Its position is that preoperative evaluation, surgical planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. In practice clinics vary widely, and most patients never ask.
ABHRS board certificationHighestABHRS certification is specific to hair restoration and verifiable in a public registry. A surgeon can be an excellent plastic surgeon or dermatologist without holding it — that is not a disqualification, but it is a fact worth knowing, and it is checkable in two minutes rather than taken on trust.
ISHRS membershipHighMembership in the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery signals participation in the specialty’s standards-setting body — and the member directory is public, so the claim can be checked in one click rather than read off a logo.
Who evaluates your hair lossHighHair loss has causes that require diagnosis — androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, scarring alopecias and systemic conditions present differently and respond differently. The ISHRS warns that non-physician evaluation risks misdiagnosis, failure to identify hair disorders or underlying disease, and unnecessary procedures. A consultation that is really a sales appointment is a different thing from a medical evaluation.
Price transparencyMediumWhether the clinic publishes per-graft rates or total ranges anywhere. Published figures are rare, correlate with consistent pricing, and are the only way a patient can calibrate a quote before a sales conversation.
Malpractice coverage of the full teamMediumThe fourth of the four ISHRS patient questions. If part of the procedure is performed by someone not covered, the patient carries a risk they were never told about.
Verifiable resultsMediumBefore-and-after photographs should depict the clinic’s own patients, treated by the surgeon who would treat you. The ISHRS lists fraudulent photography among the markers of black-market operations.
Named in AI answersEditorialWhether the clinic appears when patients ask ChatGPT, Perplexity or Google AI Overviews who to trust in its city. Tracked with dated screenshots, measured separately from quality, and never part of the evaluation itself.

Full methodology, including the featured-placement and corrections policies →

Guides & tools

Glossary · Norwood scale, illustrated · Financing calculator · Consultation checklist · Physician-performed list · ABHRS list · Published prices

How to Check Whether Your Hair Transplant Surgeon Is Actually a Surgeon

Four questions the ISHRS tells patients to ask, two public registries you can check yourself, and what the answers mean.

What Does a Hair Transplant Cost in the US? (2026)

Per-graft rates, typical graft counts by stage of loss, and what actually moves the total.

FUE vs FUT: What Actually Differs

Scarring, graft yield, recovery, cost and candidacy compared directly.

Hair Transplants Abroad: What the ISHRS Warns About

Why the price gap exists, what happens when a case needs revision, and the questions that travel poorly.

Common questions

How do I know a hair transplant surgeon is qualified?

The ISHRS publishes four questions patients should ask: who evaluates your hair loss and what is their licensure, who performs each part of the surgery, whether anyone not licensed by the state will make incisions or harvest grafts, and whether the whole team is covered by malpractice insurance. Board certification is separately verifiable through the American Board of Hair Restoration Surgery.

Do technicians perform hair transplants?

Sometimes. The ISHRS runs a consumer campaign specifically about unlicensed technicians performing substantial parts of hair restoration surgery, citing risks of misdiagnosis, missed underlying disease and unnecessary procedures. Its position is that evaluation, planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender.

How is this directory compiled?

Each city page compares clinics on verifiable fields only: ABHRS board certification, ISHRS membership, who the clinic states will perform the surgery, price transparency, and whether the clinic appears in AI assistant answers for that city. Fields we cannot confirm are marked "not stated" rather than guessed. Featured placements are labelled and do not affect the comparison.

Run a clinic? Submit it for evaluation — listing is free and never paid.