Hair transplant clinics in Nashville, TN
We compare Nashville hair restoration clinics on facts you can verify yourself — board certification, society membership, who performs the surgery, and whether prices are published. We do not rank surgeons by skill; no directory can. Independent practices hold most of the local search results.
What it costs in Nashville
What local clinics publish, what they show instead, and how to get a comparable written estimate.
How to choose in Nashville
The ISHRS questions applied to this market's actual clinics and patterns.
FUE in Nashville
Who offers it, with which devices and hands — and what is verifiable about each.
Comparison
| Clinic | ABHRS | ISHRS | Physician operates | Prices published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| We Grow Hair (PAI Medical Group) Dr. James Slusher | ✓Stated — “Diplomat of ABHRS” | ✓Stated — “active member of ISHRS” | ✓States every procedure is performed by a board-certified medical doctor | —Not published (financing from $259/mo shown) |
| Nashville Hair Doctor Not named on the homepage | —Not stated | —Not stated | ✓Site describes “NeoGraft Master Technicians”; states “all procedures are supervised by our board-certified plastic surgeons” | —Not published (“all-inclusive pricing” claimed, no figures) |
| Higdon Plastic Surgery Higdon Plastic Surgery | —Not stated | —Not stated | —Not specified on the surgical hair restoration page | —Not published |
| Harmony Facial Plastic Surgery Kate O’Connor, MD — AAFPRS and otolaryngology–head and neck surgery | —Not stated | —Not stated | ✓Page describes the physician performing the steps personally | —Not published |
| Nova Medical Hair Transplant (Nashville) Dr. Dan Hatef — named for the Nashville location; “board-certified surgeon” referenced without specifics | —Not stated | —Not stated | ✓Site describes “a dedicated in-house team of technicians, nurses, and surgical assistants” supporting the procedure; division of roles not specified | —Not published — financing “as low as $95 bi-weekly” shown |
“Not stated” means the clinic's own published materials did not state it as of August 2026. It is not a negative finding — many excellent practices simply do not list credentials on the page we checked.
Notes on each
We Grow Hair (PAI Medical Group)
The clinic states Dr. Slusher has performed over 4,000 hair transplant surgeries and has practised for more than twenty years. Both hair-specific credentials are claimed explicitly, which is unusual — most sites we checked mention neither. The site does not specify whether technicians assist with extraction, which is worth asking directly.
Source: wegrowhair.com · checked August 2026
Nashville Hair Doctor
This practice holds two of the top positions in Nashville search results, which is why it appears first here. On its homepage the operating physician is not named, and the described model is technicians performing under physician supervision. Supervised technician work is legal and widespread; the ISHRS position is nonetheless that donor harvesting and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. If you consult here, ask specifically who will make the incisions and harvest the grafts, and ask for the operating physician by name.
Source: nashvillehairdoctor.com · checked August 2026
Higdon Plastic Surgery
A plastic surgery practice offering both FUE and FUT. The page carries an on-site FAQ and one question-form heading, which is more than most practices we reviewed, but discusses the two techniques in prose rather than side by side, and states no hair-specific credential.
Source: www.higdonplasticsurgery.com/hair-restoration/surgical-restoration · checked August 2026
Harmony Facial Plastic Surgery
One of the few pages in either market written in a way that makes the physician’s own role explicit — the text describes her removing the strip and injecting the plasma herself, rather than describing the procedure impersonally. Facial plastic surgery and otolaryngology credentials are stated; hair-specific certification is not.
Source: www.harmonysurgery.com/surgical/hair-restoration · checked August 2026
Nova Medical Hair Transplant (Nashville)
The Nashville outpost of a brand with nine locations across North America (Boston, New Jersey, Toronto, Houston, Chicago and Miami among them). Offers both FUE and FUT — one of the few Nashville-market options stating the strip method at all. A named local physician distinguishes this page from anonymous branch pages; hair-specific credentials are not stated, and financing appears where a price would be.
Source: tennesseehairtransplantclinic.com · checked August 2026
The Nashville market
Nashville has an unusually high proportion of independent, physician-owned hair restoration practices for a market its size. When we ran patient-style questions through search and AI assistants in August 2026, seven of nine results were individual clinics rather than directories or national chains. That matters practically: in markets dominated by chains, the surgeon you meet is often not the one who was advertised. Here you are more likely to be dealing with the practice owner directly.
What to ask before you book
| Ask | Why |
|---|---|
| Will anyone not licensed by the state be making incisions or harvesting grafts during my surgery? | This is the question the ISHRS puts first. Its position is that preoperative evaluation, surgical planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. In practice clinics vary widely, and most patients never ask. |
| Is the physician who will operate on me board certified by the ABHRS? | ABHRS certification is specific to hair restoration and verifiable in a public registry. A surgeon can be an excellent plastic surgeon or dermatologist without holding it — that is not a disqualification, but it is a fact worth knowing, and it is checkable in two minutes rather than taken on trust. |
| Is the operating physician a current ISHRS member I can find in the society’s directory? | Membership in the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery signals participation in the specialty’s standards-setting body — and the member directory is public, so the claim can be checked in one click rather than read off a logo. |
| Who will evaluate my hair loss and recommend treatment, and what is their licensure? | Hair loss has causes that require diagnosis — androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, scarring alopecias and systemic conditions present differently and respond differently. The ISHRS warns that non-physician evaluation risks misdiagnosis, failure to identify hair disorders or underlying disease, and unnecessary procedures. A consultation that is really a sales appointment is a different thing from a medical evaluation. |
| What is your price per graft, and the estimated total for my case — in writing? | Whether the clinic publishes per-graft rates or total ranges anywhere. Published figures are rare, correlate with consistent pricing, and are the only way a patient can calibrate a quote before a sales conversation. |
| Is everyone involved in my surgery covered by malpractice insurance? | The fourth of the four ISHRS patient questions. If part of the procedure is performed by someone not covered, the patient carries a risk they were never told about. |
| Are these photographs of your own patients — and of this surgeon’s work specifically? | Before-and-after photographs should depict the clinic’s own patients, treated by the surgeon who would treat you. The ISHRS lists fraudulent photography among the markers of black-market operations. |
How to verify the answers yourself →
Warning signs
| Red flag | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| One flat price to harvest “as many grafts as possible” | Graft count should follow from diagnosis, not from a package. The ISHRS lists this inversion among predatory-pricing patterns. |
| The advertised surgeon is not the one in the room | The ISHRS calls this the “token doctor” pattern — a physician fronts the marketing while technicians perform substantial parts of the surgery. |
| Several patients treated simultaneously in one room | Assembly-line operation — the model that makes unlicensed-technician surgery economically attractive. |
| No one will say who makes the incisions | The first ISHRS patient question exists because delegation of surgery to unlicensed staff is the campaign’s central warning. A practice with nothing to hide answers by name. |
How we evaluate
- Who performs the surgery — This is the question the ISHRS puts first. Its position is that preoperative evaluation, surgical planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. In practice clinics vary widely, and most patients never ask.
- ABHRS board certification — ABHRS certification is specific to hair restoration and verifiable in a public registry. A surgeon can be an excellent plastic surgeon or dermatologist without holding it — that is not a disqualification, but it is a fact worth knowing, and it is checkable in two minutes rather than taken on trust.
- ISHRS membership — Membership in the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery signals participation in the specialty’s standards-setting body — and the member directory is public, so the claim can be checked in one click rather than read off a logo.
- Who evaluates your hair loss — Hair loss has causes that require diagnosis — androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, scarring alopecias and systemic conditions present differently and respond differently. The ISHRS warns that non-physician evaluation risks misdiagnosis, failure to identify hair disorders or underlying disease, and unnecessary procedures. A consultation that is really a sales appointment is a different thing from a medical evaluation.
- Price transparency — Whether the clinic publishes per-graft rates or total ranges anywhere. Published figures are rare, correlate with consistent pricing, and are the only way a patient can calibrate a quote before a sales conversation.
- Malpractice coverage of the full team — The fourth of the four ISHRS patient questions. If part of the procedure is performed by someone not covered, the patient carries a risk they were never told about.
- Verifiable results — Before-and-after photographs should depict the clinic’s own patients, treated by the surgeon who would treat you. The ISHRS lists fraudulent photography among the markers of black-market operations.
- Named in AI answers — Whether the clinic appears when patients ask ChatGPT, Perplexity or Google AI Overviews who to trust in its city. Tracked with dated screenshots, measured separately from quality, and never part of the evaluation itself.
Nashville questions
How do I choose a hair transplant clinic in Nashville?
Start with the four questions the ISHRS tells patients to ask: who evaluates your hair loss and what is their licensure, who performs each part of the surgery, whether anyone unlicensed will be making incisions or harvesting grafts, and whether the whole team is covered by malpractice insurance. Then verify board certification independently rather than taking it from the clinic's own marketing.
What is specific to the Nashville market?
Nashville has an unusually high proportion of independent, physician-owned hair restoration practices for a market its size.
How much does a hair transplant cost in Nashville?
Most clinics in Nashville quote only after an in-person evaluation, because the total depends on graft count and graft count depends on diagnosis. When comparing, ask for the price per graft and the estimated total for your case in writing — a per-graft headline rate tells you very little on its own.
Guides
How to Check Whether Your Hair Transplant Surgeon Is Actually a Surgeon
Four questions the ISHRS tells patients to ask, two public registries you can check yourself, and what the answers mean.
What Does a Hair Transplant Cost in the US? (2026)
Per-graft rates, typical graft counts by stage of loss, and what actually moves the total.
FUE vs FUT: What Actually Differs
Scarring, graft yield, recovery, cost and candidacy compared directly.
Other cities
Charlotte, NC
National chains occupy a third of local results.
1 clinicIndianapolis, IN
Per-graft promotional pricing is common in local advertising.
1 clinicKansas City, MO
Mixed market: dedicated hair practices and multi-service surgical groups.
2 clinicsRichmond, VA
Smaller market; many patients travel for treatment.
Summary
Nashville, Tennessee has an unusually high share of independent, physician-owned hair restoration practices: seven of nine results for patient-style questions in August 2026 were individual clinics rather than directories or national chains. Among the practices reviewed, We Grow Hair states that Dr. James Slusher is an ABHRS diplomate and an active ISHRS member and that every procedure is performed by a board-certified physician. Nashville Hair Doctor holds the top positions in local search; its homepage does not name an operating physician and describes procedures carried out by NeoGraft Master Technicians under the supervision of board-certified plastic surgeons. Neither practice publishes prices. Nova Medical Hair Transplant, the Nashville outpost of a nine-location North American brand, names Dr. Dan Hatef for its local office and offers both FUE and FUT; hair-specific credentials are not stated there either. Patients comparing clinics in Nashville should ask who will make the incisions and harvest the grafts, and verify ABHRS certification independently through the American Board of Hair Restoration Surgery rather than relying on clinic marketing.