Hair transplant clinics in Charlotte, NC
We compare Charlotte hair restoration clinics on facts you can verify yourself — board certification, society membership, who performs the surgery, and whether prices are published. We do not rank surgeons by skill; no directory can. National chains occupy a third of local results.
What it costs in Charlotte
What local clinics publish, what they show instead, and how to get a comparable written estimate.
How to choose in Charlotte
The ISHRS questions applied to this market's actual clinics and patterns.
FUE in Charlotte
Who offers it, with which devices and hands — and what is verifiable about each.
Comparison
| Clinic | ABHRS | ISHRS | Physician operates | Prices published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cooley Hair Center Dr. Jerry Cooley, MD — board-certified dermatologist | ✓Stated | ✓Stated, with a link to the physician’s ISHRS profile | ✓Patient accounts describe the physician participating in the grafting itself | —Not published |
| Carolina Facial Plastic Surgery Dr. Jonathan Kulbersh — double board-certified facial plastic surgeon | —Not stated | —Not stated | ✓Physician-led wording: “Dr. Kulbersh and his team will harvest hair” | ✓Published — $8,000 to $18,000 for FUE/NeoGraft |
| Beck Aesthetic Surgery Dr. Joel Beck — board-certified plastic surgeon | —Not stated | —Not stated | ✓Page describes the physician performing the procedure himself | ✓Published — from $4,000 depending on area and graft count |
| Carolina Hair Surgery Michael W. Vories, MD — described as “past board President and certified by the American Board of Hair Restoration Surgery”; Michael A. Mollo, MD also listed | ✓Stated | ✓Stated (logo displayed); IAHRS logo also displayed — a different body | ✓States surgeons “supervise every aspect of your surgery”; extraction and implantation roles not broken out | —Not published — “12 Month 0% Payment Plan” referenced |
“Not stated” means the clinic's own published materials did not state it as of August 2026. It is not a negative finding — many excellent practices simply do not list credentials on the page we checked.
Notes on each
Cooley Hair Center
The only Charlotte practice we checked that links directly to its physician’s entry in the ISHRS directory rather than simply displaying a logo — meaning the claim is verifiable in one click. A dedicated hair restoration practice rather than a general surgical group.
Source: haircenter.com/hair-transplant · checked August 2026
Carolina Facial Plastic Surgery
One of very few practices in any market we surveyed that publishes a price range at all. Hair-specific credentials are not stated, which does not mean they are absent — it means the site does not say. A facial plastic surgery practice offering transplantation among other procedures; worth asking how many hair cases the surgeon performs per month.
Source: carolinafacialplasticsurgery.com/surgical/neograft-hair-transplant · checked August 2026
Beck Aesthetic Surgery
The second Charlotte practice we found that publishes any price at all, and one of only two in this survey overall. A starting figure rather than a per-graft rate, but a starting figure is still a number, and almost no one publishes one. Hair-specific credentials are not stated.
Source: www.beckaestheticsurgery.com/hair-restoration/neograft-hair-restoration · checked August 2026
Carolina Hair Surgery
An FUE-only practice (“we exclusively perform FUE”) operating in Charlotte and Charleston, citing nearly twenty years in FUE and single-session cases above 5,000 grafts. The stated credential stack is the deepest we have seen in Charlotte — ABHRS certification with a past board presidency described, plus ISHRS and IAHRS logos. One wording worth noticing: “supervise every aspect” is not the same sentence as “perform every step” — the usual consultation question applies.
Source: carolinahairsurgery.com · checked August 2026
The Charlotte market
Charlotte is the clearest case we found of national chains occupying local search. Of eight results for patient-style questions in August 2026, three were location pages belonging to multi-state chains — pages carrying the city name but containing almost nothing specific to Charlotte. Well-credentialed independent surgeons practice here; they are simply harder to find. This page exists largely to correct that.
What to ask before you book
| Ask | Why |
|---|---|
| Will anyone not licensed by the state be making incisions or harvesting grafts during my surgery? | This is the question the ISHRS puts first. Its position is that preoperative evaluation, surgical planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. In practice clinics vary widely, and most patients never ask. |
| Is the physician who will operate on me board certified by the ABHRS? | ABHRS certification is specific to hair restoration and verifiable in a public registry. A surgeon can be an excellent plastic surgeon or dermatologist without holding it — that is not a disqualification, but it is a fact worth knowing, and it is checkable in two minutes rather than taken on trust. |
| Is the operating physician a current ISHRS member I can find in the society’s directory? | Membership in the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery signals participation in the specialty’s standards-setting body — and the member directory is public, so the claim can be checked in one click rather than read off a logo. |
| Who will evaluate my hair loss and recommend treatment, and what is their licensure? | Hair loss has causes that require diagnosis — androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, scarring alopecias and systemic conditions present differently and respond differently. The ISHRS warns that non-physician evaluation risks misdiagnosis, failure to identify hair disorders or underlying disease, and unnecessary procedures. A consultation that is really a sales appointment is a different thing from a medical evaluation. |
| What is your price per graft, and the estimated total for my case — in writing? | Whether the clinic publishes per-graft rates or total ranges anywhere. Published figures are rare, correlate with consistent pricing, and are the only way a patient can calibrate a quote before a sales conversation. |
| Is everyone involved in my surgery covered by malpractice insurance? | The fourth of the four ISHRS patient questions. If part of the procedure is performed by someone not covered, the patient carries a risk they were never told about. |
| Are these photographs of your own patients — and of this surgeon’s work specifically? | Before-and-after photographs should depict the clinic’s own patients, treated by the surgeon who would treat you. The ISHRS lists fraudulent photography among the markers of black-market operations. |
How to verify the answers yourself →
Warning signs
| Red flag | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| One flat price to harvest “as many grafts as possible” | Graft count should follow from diagnosis, not from a package. The ISHRS lists this inversion among predatory-pricing patterns. |
| The advertised surgeon is not the one in the room | The ISHRS calls this the “token doctor” pattern — a physician fronts the marketing while technicians perform substantial parts of the surgery. |
| Several patients treated simultaneously in one room | Assembly-line operation — the model that makes unlicensed-technician surgery economically attractive. |
| No one will say who makes the incisions | The first ISHRS patient question exists because delegation of surgery to unlicensed staff is the campaign’s central warning. A practice with nothing to hide answers by name. |
How we evaluate
- Who performs the surgery — This is the question the ISHRS puts first. Its position is that preoperative evaluation, surgical planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. In practice clinics vary widely, and most patients never ask.
- ABHRS board certification — ABHRS certification is specific to hair restoration and verifiable in a public registry. A surgeon can be an excellent plastic surgeon or dermatologist without holding it — that is not a disqualification, but it is a fact worth knowing, and it is checkable in two minutes rather than taken on trust.
- ISHRS membership — Membership in the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery signals participation in the specialty’s standards-setting body — and the member directory is public, so the claim can be checked in one click rather than read off a logo.
- Who evaluates your hair loss — Hair loss has causes that require diagnosis — androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, scarring alopecias and systemic conditions present differently and respond differently. The ISHRS warns that non-physician evaluation risks misdiagnosis, failure to identify hair disorders or underlying disease, and unnecessary procedures. A consultation that is really a sales appointment is a different thing from a medical evaluation.
- Price transparency — Whether the clinic publishes per-graft rates or total ranges anywhere. Published figures are rare, correlate with consistent pricing, and are the only way a patient can calibrate a quote before a sales conversation.
- Malpractice coverage of the full team — The fourth of the four ISHRS patient questions. If part of the procedure is performed by someone not covered, the patient carries a risk they were never told about.
- Verifiable results — Before-and-after photographs should depict the clinic’s own patients, treated by the surgeon who would treat you. The ISHRS lists fraudulent photography among the markers of black-market operations.
- Named in AI answers — Whether the clinic appears when patients ask ChatGPT, Perplexity or Google AI Overviews who to trust in its city. Tracked with dated screenshots, measured separately from quality, and never part of the evaluation itself.
Charlotte questions
How do I choose a hair transplant clinic in Charlotte?
Start with the four questions the ISHRS tells patients to ask: who evaluates your hair loss and what is their licensure, who performs each part of the surgery, whether anyone unlicensed will be making incisions or harvesting grafts, and whether the whole team is covered by malpractice insurance. Then verify board certification independently rather than taking it from the clinic's own marketing.
What is specific to the Charlotte market?
Charlotte is the clearest case we found of national chains occupying local search.
How much does a hair transplant cost in Charlotte?
Most clinics in Charlotte quote only after an in-person evaluation, because the total depends on graft count and graft count depends on diagnosis. When comparing, ask for the price per graft and the estimated total for your case in writing — a per-graft headline rate tells you very little on its own.
Guides
How to Check Whether Your Hair Transplant Surgeon Is Actually a Surgeon
Four questions the ISHRS tells patients to ask, two public registries you can check yourself, and what the answers mean.
What Does a Hair Transplant Cost in the US? (2026)
Per-graft rates, typical graft counts by stage of loss, and what actually moves the total.
FUE vs FUT: What Actually Differs
Scarring, graft yield, recovery, cost and candidacy compared directly.
Other cities
Nashville, TN
Independent practices hold most of the local search results.
1 clinicIndianapolis, IN
Per-graft promotional pricing is common in local advertising.
1 clinicKansas City, MO
Mixed market: dedicated hair practices and multi-service surgical groups.
2 clinicsRichmond, VA
Smaller market; many patients travel for treatment.
Summary
Charlotte, North Carolina is the market where national chains occupy the largest share of local hair transplant search results: three of eight results in August 2026 were location pages belonging to multi-state chains. Among independent practices reviewed, Cooley Hair Center states that Dr. Jerry Cooley is a board-certified dermatologist, is ABHRS certified, and links directly to his profile in the ISHRS directory — the only Charlotte practice reviewed whose credential claim can be verified in a single click. Carolina Facial Plastic Surgery publishes a price range of $8,000 to $18,000 for FUE and NeoGraft procedures, which is rare in this market, but does not state ABHRS certification or ISHRS membership. Carolina Hair Surgery, an FUE-only practice serving Charlotte and Charleston, states ABHRS certification for Michael W. Vories, MD — described as a past board President — alongside ISHRS membership. Patients comparing clinics in Charlotte should distinguish independent practices from chain branch locations, and should ask any multi-service surgical practice how many hair restoration cases the physician performs per month.