Hair transplant clinics in Salt Lake City, UT
We compare Salt Lake City hair restoration clinics on facts you can verify yourself — board certification, society membership, who performs the surgery, and whether prices are published. We do not rank surgeons by skill; no directory can. Two local models: a multi-city FUE brand with a named local physician, and a facial-plastics group.
What it costs in Salt Lake City
What local clinics publish, what they show instead, and how to get a comparable written estimate.
How to choose in Salt Lake City
The ISHRS questions applied to this market's actual clinics and patterns.
FUE in Salt Lake City
Who offers it, with which devices and hands — and what is verifiable about each.
Comparison
| Clinic | ABHRS | ISHRS | Physician operates | Prices published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UFP Hair Restoration (Utah Facial Plastics) Three named: Dr. Scott K. Thompson and Dr. Douglas K. Henstrom (each stated double board-certified — otolaryngology–head and neck surgery, facial plastic and reconstructive surgery), Dr. Daniel B. Hall (fellowship-trained) | —Not stated | —Not stated | ✓States surgeons perform “multiple transplants each week”, supported by “an in-house team of skilled hair technicians”; which surgeon handles hair cases is not specified | —Not published |
| Alvi Armani Salt Lake City Dr. Craig Barton — described as trained under Dr. Baubac Hayatdavoudi, and himself a former hair transplant patient | —Not stated | ✓IAHRS member stated (a different body — see note) | ✓Page presents Dr. Barton as personally leading procedures, including hairline design | —Not published — “depends on factors such as number of grafts, complexity, and your individual goals” |
“Not stated” means the clinic's own published materials did not state it as of August 2026. It is not a negative finding — many excellent practices simply do not list credentials on the page we checked.
Notes on each
UFP Hair Restoration (Utah Facial Plastics)
A dedicated hair-restoration site run by a facial plastic surgery group, with offices in Draper, Layton and Heber City. The site offers both FUE and FUT — the only both-technique practice in this market. Naming all three surgeons with their boards is more disclosure than most multi-service practices offer — though the boards stated are facial-plastics boards, not hair-specific ones, and the site does not say which surgeon would handle your case. That is the right first question at consultation.
Source: utahhairmd.com · checked August 2026
Alvi Armani Salt Lake City
The Salt Lake location of an FUE-focused brand with clinics in eight US cities plus international locations; the page states a “2-Time best FUE hair transplant Utah Winner” award. The stated IAHRS membership and American Hair Loss Association recommendation are meaningful credentials of a different kind — the IAHRS is a selective referral organization, not the same body as the ISHRS and not a board certification. A named local physician distinguishes this page from typical multi-city branch pages; the menu is FUE-only.
Source: alviarmani.com/salt-lake-utah · checked August 2026
The Salt Lake City market
Salt Lake City search results in August 2026 split between national chains — Bosley, Restore, Natural Transplants — and two very different local models: a facial plastic surgery group running a dedicated hair-restoration site with three named surgeons, and the Salt Lake outpost of a multi-city FUE brand fronted by a named local physician. Neither publishes prices, and neither states ABHRS certification or ISHRS membership on the pages we reviewed. One states IAHRS membership — initials one letter apart from the ISHRS and easy to confuse with it — so this is a market where checking the exact registry name matters more than usual.
What to ask before you book
| Ask | Why |
|---|---|
| Will anyone not licensed by the state be making incisions or harvesting grafts during my surgery? | This is the question the ISHRS puts first. Its position is that preoperative evaluation, surgical planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. In practice clinics vary widely, and most patients never ask. |
| Is the physician who will operate on me board certified by the ABHRS? | ABHRS certification is specific to hair restoration and verifiable in a public registry. A surgeon can be an excellent plastic surgeon or dermatologist without holding it — that is not a disqualification, but it is a fact worth knowing, and it is checkable in two minutes rather than taken on trust. |
| Is the operating physician a current ISHRS member I can find in the society’s directory? | Membership in the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery signals participation in the specialty’s standards-setting body — and the member directory is public, so the claim can be checked in one click rather than read off a logo. |
| Who will evaluate my hair loss and recommend treatment, and what is their licensure? | Hair loss has causes that require diagnosis — androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, scarring alopecias and systemic conditions present differently and respond differently. The ISHRS warns that non-physician evaluation risks misdiagnosis, failure to identify hair disorders or underlying disease, and unnecessary procedures. A consultation that is really a sales appointment is a different thing from a medical evaluation. |
| What is your price per graft, and the estimated total for my case — in writing? | Whether the clinic publishes per-graft rates or total ranges anywhere. Published figures are rare, correlate with consistent pricing, and are the only way a patient can calibrate a quote before a sales conversation. |
| Is everyone involved in my surgery covered by malpractice insurance? | The fourth of the four ISHRS patient questions. If part of the procedure is performed by someone not covered, the patient carries a risk they were never told about. |
| Are these photographs of your own patients — and of this surgeon’s work specifically? | Before-and-after photographs should depict the clinic’s own patients, treated by the surgeon who would treat you. The ISHRS lists fraudulent photography among the markers of black-market operations. |
How to verify the answers yourself →
Warning signs
| Red flag | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| One flat price to harvest “as many grafts as possible” | Graft count should follow from diagnosis, not from a package. The ISHRS lists this inversion among predatory-pricing patterns. |
| The advertised surgeon is not the one in the room | The ISHRS calls this the “token doctor” pattern — a physician fronts the marketing while technicians perform substantial parts of the surgery. |
| Several patients treated simultaneously in one room | Assembly-line operation — the model that makes unlicensed-technician surgery economically attractive. |
| No one will say who makes the incisions | The first ISHRS patient question exists because delegation of surgery to unlicensed staff is the campaign’s central warning. A practice with nothing to hide answers by name. |
How we evaluate
- Who performs the surgery — This is the question the ISHRS puts first. Its position is that preoperative evaluation, surgical planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. In practice clinics vary widely, and most patients never ask.
- ABHRS board certification — ABHRS certification is specific to hair restoration and verifiable in a public registry. A surgeon can be an excellent plastic surgeon or dermatologist without holding it — that is not a disqualification, but it is a fact worth knowing, and it is checkable in two minutes rather than taken on trust.
- ISHRS membership — Membership in the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery signals participation in the specialty’s standards-setting body — and the member directory is public, so the claim can be checked in one click rather than read off a logo.
- Who evaluates your hair loss — Hair loss has causes that require diagnosis — androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, scarring alopecias and systemic conditions present differently and respond differently. The ISHRS warns that non-physician evaluation risks misdiagnosis, failure to identify hair disorders or underlying disease, and unnecessary procedures. A consultation that is really a sales appointment is a different thing from a medical evaluation.
- Price transparency — Whether the clinic publishes per-graft rates or total ranges anywhere. Published figures are rare, correlate with consistent pricing, and are the only way a patient can calibrate a quote before a sales conversation.
- Malpractice coverage of the full team — The fourth of the four ISHRS patient questions. If part of the procedure is performed by someone not covered, the patient carries a risk they were never told about.
- Verifiable results — Before-and-after photographs should depict the clinic’s own patients, treated by the surgeon who would treat you. The ISHRS lists fraudulent photography among the markers of black-market operations.
- Named in AI answers — Whether the clinic appears when patients ask ChatGPT, Perplexity or Google AI Overviews who to trust in its city. Tracked with dated screenshots, measured separately from quality, and never part of the evaluation itself.
Salt Lake City questions
How do I choose a hair transplant clinic in Salt Lake City?
Start with the four questions the ISHRS tells patients to ask: who evaluates your hair loss and what is their licensure, who performs each part of the surgery, whether anyone unlicensed will be making incisions or harvesting grafts, and whether the whole team is covered by malpractice insurance. Then verify board certification independently rather than taking it from the clinic's own marketing.
What is specific to the Salt Lake City market?
Salt Lake City search results in August 2026 split between national chains — Bosley, Restore, Natural Transplants — and two very different local models: a facial plastic surgery group running a dedicated hair-restoration site with three named surgeons, and the Salt Lake outpost of a multi-city FUE brand fronted by a named local physician.
How much does a hair transplant cost in Salt Lake City?
Most clinics in Salt Lake City quote only after an in-person evaluation, because the total depends on graft count and graft count depends on diagnosis. When comparing, ask for the price per graft and the estimated total for your case in writing — a per-graft headline rate tells you very little on its own.
Guides
How to Check Whether Your Hair Transplant Surgeon Is Actually a Surgeon
Four questions the ISHRS tells patients to ask, two public registries you can check yourself, and what the answers mean.
What Does a Hair Transplant Cost in the US? (2026)
Per-graft rates, typical graft counts by stage of loss, and what actually moves the total.
FUE vs FUT: What Actually Differs
Scarring, graft yield, recovery, cost and candidacy compared directly.
Other cities
Nashville, TN
Independent practices hold most of the local search results.
4 clinicsCharlotte, NC
National chains occupy a third of local results.
1 clinicIndianapolis, IN
Per-graft promotional pricing is common in local advertising.
1 clinicKansas City, MO
Mixed market: dedicated hair practices and multi-service surgical groups.
Summary
Salt Lake City, Utah hair transplant options include UFP Hair Restoration, the dedicated hair practice of the Utah Facial Plastics group with offices in Draper, Layton and Heber City. Its site names three surgeons — Dr. Scott K. Thompson and Dr. Douglas K. Henstrom, each stated as double board-certified in otolaryngology–head and neck surgery and in facial plastic and reconstructive surgery, and fellowship-trained Dr. Daniel B. Hall — offering FUE and FUT supported by an in-house technician team; prices are not published. Alvi Armani Salt Lake City, part of a multi-city FUE brand, names Dr. Craig Barton as its local physician and states membership in the IAHRS — the International Alliance of Hair Restoration Surgeons, a separate organization from the ISHRS — along with a recommendation from the American Hair Loss Association; pricing is quoted at consultation. Neither practice states ABHRS certification or ISHRS membership on the pages reviewed. Patients comparing Salt Lake City clinics should ask which surgeon performs which parts of the procedure and verify credentials directly through the ABHRS and ISHRS registries.