HomeCitiesRaleigh

Hair transplant clinics in Raleigh, NC

We compare Raleigh hair restoration clinics on facts you can verify yourself — board certification, society membership, who performs the surgery, and whether prices are published. We do not rank surgeons by skill; no directory can. Chains dominate search; disclosure among the independents varies sharply.

What it costs in Raleigh

What local clinics publish, what they show instead, and how to get a comparable written estimate.

How to choose in Raleigh

The ISHRS questions applied to this market's actual clinics and patterns.

FUE in Raleigh

Who offers it, with which devices and hands — and what is verifiable about each.

Comparison

ClinicABHRSISHRSPhysician operatesPrices published
AZ Hair Restoration
Dr. Arthur Zacco
Not stated Stated (logo displayed) States the physician “personally performs every step” of the procedure Not published (“no hidden costs” claimed, no figures)
Jernigan’s Hair Replacement Clinic
Not named on the hair transplant page
Not stated Not stated Page references “the doctor or one of his trained staff members” Not published

“Not stated” means the clinic's own published materials did not state it as of August 2026. It is not a negative finding — many excellent practices simply do not list credentials on the page we checked.

Notes on each

AZ Hair Restoration

A physician-owned Wake County facility whose central claim — the physician personally performs every step, consultation to aftercare — answers the first ISHRS patient question directly. That claim is stated, not independently verified; it is nonetheless rare to see it made at all, and it is the right thing to ask any competing clinic to match.

Visit clinic site →

Source: azhairrestoration.com · checked August 2026

Jernigan’s Hair Replacement Clinic

A long-standing Raleigh clinic offering non-surgical hair replacement alongside surgery, with FUE, FUT and combination approaches on the menu. The hair transplant page names no physician and states no medical credentials — yet this clinic appears by name in AI assistant answers for Raleigh in our August 2026 measurements, a clean illustration of the current gap between AI visibility and verifiable disclosure. If you consult here, ask for the operating physician by name and their licensure.

Visit clinic site →

Source: jerniganshair.com/hair-transplant · checked August 2026

The Raleigh market

Raleigh search results are dominated by national chains and overseas listicles — of seven results for patient-style questions in August 2026, only two were independent local practices. One of those independents states that the physician personally performs every step of the procedure — the exact question the ISHRS tells patients to ask — while the other names no physician on its hair transplant page at all. The gap between those two disclosure levels, inside a single market, is the clearest illustration in our index of why patients have to ask rather than assume.

What to ask before you book

AskWhy
Will anyone not licensed by the state be making incisions or harvesting grafts during my surgery?This is the question the ISHRS puts first. Its position is that preoperative evaluation, surgical planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. In practice clinics vary widely, and most patients never ask.
Is the physician who will operate on me board certified by the ABHRS?ABHRS certification is specific to hair restoration and verifiable in a public registry. A surgeon can be an excellent plastic surgeon or dermatologist without holding it — that is not a disqualification, but it is a fact worth knowing, and it is checkable in two minutes rather than taken on trust.
Is the operating physician a current ISHRS member I can find in the society’s directory?Membership in the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery signals participation in the specialty’s standards-setting body — and the member directory is public, so the claim can be checked in one click rather than read off a logo.
Who will evaluate my hair loss and recommend treatment, and what is their licensure?Hair loss has causes that require diagnosis — androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, scarring alopecias and systemic conditions present differently and respond differently. The ISHRS warns that non-physician evaluation risks misdiagnosis, failure to identify hair disorders or underlying disease, and unnecessary procedures. A consultation that is really a sales appointment is a different thing from a medical evaluation.
What is your price per graft, and the estimated total for my case — in writing?Whether the clinic publishes per-graft rates or total ranges anywhere. Published figures are rare, correlate with consistent pricing, and are the only way a patient can calibrate a quote before a sales conversation.
Is everyone involved in my surgery covered by malpractice insurance?The fourth of the four ISHRS patient questions. If part of the procedure is performed by someone not covered, the patient carries a risk they were never told about.
Are these photographs of your own patients — and of this surgeon’s work specifically?Before-and-after photographs should depict the clinic’s own patients, treated by the surgeon who would treat you. The ISHRS lists fraudulent photography among the markers of black-market operations.

How to verify the answers yourself →

Warning signs

Red flagWhy it matters
One flat price to harvest “as many grafts as possible”Graft count should follow from diagnosis, not from a package. The ISHRS lists this inversion among predatory-pricing patterns.
The advertised surgeon is not the one in the roomThe ISHRS calls this the “token doctor” pattern — a physician fronts the marketing while technicians perform substantial parts of the surgery.
Several patients treated simultaneously in one roomAssembly-line operation — the model that makes unlicensed-technician surgery economically attractive.
No one will say who makes the incisionsThe first ISHRS patient question exists because delegation of surgery to unlicensed staff is the campaign’s central warning. A practice with nothing to hide answers by name.

How we evaluate

Full methodology →

Raleigh questions

How do I choose a hair transplant clinic in Raleigh?

Start with the four questions the ISHRS tells patients to ask: who evaluates your hair loss and what is their licensure, who performs each part of the surgery, whether anyone unlicensed will be making incisions or harvesting grafts, and whether the whole team is covered by malpractice insurance. Then verify board certification independently rather than taking it from the clinic's own marketing.

What is specific to the Raleigh market?

Raleigh search results are dominated by national chains and overseas listicles — of seven results for patient-style questions in August 2026, only two were independent local practices.

How much does a hair transplant cost in Raleigh?

Most clinics in Raleigh quote only after an in-person evaluation, because the total depends on graft count and graft count depends on diagnosis. When comparing, ask for the price per graft and the estimated total for your case in writing — a per-graft headline rate tells you very little on its own.

Guides

How to Check Whether Your Hair Transplant Surgeon Is Actually a Surgeon

Four questions the ISHRS tells patients to ask, two public registries you can check yourself, and what the answers mean.

What Does a Hair Transplant Cost in the US? (2026)

Per-graft rates, typical graft counts by stage of loss, and what actually moves the total.

FUE vs FUT: What Actually Differs

Scarring, graft yield, recovery, cost and candidacy compared directly.

Other cities

5 clinics

Nashville, TN

Independent practices hold most of the local search results.

4 clinics

Charlotte, NC

National chains occupy a third of local results.

1 clinic

Indianapolis, IN

Per-graft promotional pricing is common in local advertising.

1 clinic

Kansas City, MO

Mixed market: dedicated hair practices and multi-service surgical groups.

Summary

Raleigh, North Carolina hair transplant search results are held largely by national chains and overseas listicles. Among independent practices, AZ Hair Restoration, a physician-owned facility in Wake County, states that Dr. Arthur Zacco personally performs every step of the procedure and displays ISHRS membership. Jernigan’s, a long-standing Raleigh hair replacement clinic that also offers FUE and FUT surgery, names no physician on its hair transplant page. Koher Medical, which formerly served the Raleigh market from High Point and published per-graft rates, closed following the death of its founding surgeon and is no longer included in this comparison. Patients comparing Raleigh clinics should distinguish independent practices from chain branch pages and verify stated credentials through the ABHRS and ISHRS registries.

Do you run a clinic in Raleigh? Submit it for evaluation.