Choosing a hair restoration practice in Kansas City
Kansas City splits between dedicated hair restoration practices and plastic surgery or dermatology groups offering transplantation among other work — the pattern our Kansas City comparison documents. The practical consequence: the right first question depends on which model you are talking to. For a multi-service group it is case volume; for a dedicated practice it is hair-specific credentials and who performs each step. A national chain branch also operates in this market, where the question is which surgeon works at the local office.
Match the question to the practice model
| Practice model | Built-in strength | First question to ask |
|---|---|---|
| Dedicated hair practice | Volume — hair is the whole business | “Which hair-specific credentials — ABHRS, ISHRS — and who does extraction and placement?” |
| Multi-service surgical group | Broad surgical training | “How many hair cases per month does the physician perform?” |
| Chain branch | Process and financing | “Which surgeon operates at this location, and how often?” |
Reading the letters after a physician's name
The practice in our comparison, Buchwach Goldstein Hair Restoration Clinic, names two physicians with fellowship credentials in their own specialties — MD, FACS and DO, FACEP — and states that the physicians themselves perform both FUE and FUT. Those are real credentials and a meaningful statement. They are also not the same thing as hair-specific certification: ABHRS diplomate status and ISHRS membership are separate claims, checkable in public registries, and the site does not state them. Not stated does not mean absent — it means ask, then verify.
The four ISHRS patient questions
1. Who performs the surgery
This is the question the ISHRS puts first. Its position is that preoperative evaluation, surgical planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. In practice clinics vary widely, and most patients never ask.
Ask: “Will anyone not licensed by the state be making incisions or harvesting grafts during my surgery?”
2. ABHRS board certification
ABHRS certification is specific to hair restoration and verifiable in a public registry. A surgeon can be an excellent plastic surgeon or dermatologist without holding it — that is not a disqualification, but it is a fact worth knowing, and it is checkable in two minutes rather than taken on trust.
Ask: “Is the physician who will operate on me board certified by the ABHRS?”
3. ISHRS membership
Membership in the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery signals participation in the specialty’s standards-setting body — and the member directory is public, so the claim can be checked in one click rather than read off a logo.
Ask: “Is the operating physician a current ISHRS member I can find in the society’s directory?”
4. Who evaluates your hair loss
Hair loss has causes that require diagnosis — androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, scarring alopecias and systemic conditions present differently and respond differently. The ISHRS warns that non-physician evaluation risks misdiagnosis, failure to identify hair disorders or underlying disease, and unnecessary procedures. A consultation that is really a sales appointment is a different thing from a medical evaluation.
Ask: “Who will evaluate my hair loss and recommend treatment, and what is their licensure?”
Patterns the ISHRS tells patients to avoid
| Red flag | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| One flat price to harvest “as many grafts as possible” | Graft count should follow from diagnosis, not from a package. The ISHRS lists this inversion among predatory-pricing patterns. |
| The advertised surgeon is not the one in the room | The ISHRS calls this the “token doctor” pattern — a physician fronts the marketing while technicians perform substantial parts of the surgery. |
| Several patients treated simultaneously in one room | Assembly-line operation — the model that makes unlicensed-technician surgery economically attractive. |
| No one will say who makes the incisions | The first ISHRS patient question exists because delegation of surgery to unlicensed staff is the campaign’s central warning. A practice with nothing to hide answers by name. |
| Before-and-after photos that are not the clinic’s own patients | Fraudulent photography is an ISHRS-listed black-market marker. Results you are shown should be results this surgeon produced. |
| Diagnosis by a salesperson instead of a physician | Hair loss has medical causes that present differently. A consultation that is really a sales appointment risks misdiagnosis and unnecessary surgery. |
Kansas City questions
Should I prefer a dedicated hair clinic over a plastic surgery group in Kansas City?
Not automatically — but the default questions flip. A dedicated practice lives on hair volume, so ask instead about credentials and who does each step. A multi-service group may have excellent surgeons who do hair occasionally, so ask about monthly hair case volume first. Kansas City has both models, which is exactly why the comparison matters.
The clinic I like lists FACS and FACEP after the physicians’ names — is that hair certification?
No. FACS (Fellow, American College of Surgeons) and FACEP (Fellow, American College of Emergency Physicians) are fellowships in the physicians’ own specialties — legitimate credentials, but not hair-specific ones. The hair-specific checks are the ABHRS diplomate registry and the ISHRS member directory, both public.