Richmond Surgical Arts
Richmond, VA · richmondsurgicalarts.com
on their own site
Independent profile · every claim from the clinic's own materials · checked August 2026 · methodology. Disclosure count measures what their site answers — it is not a quality rating.
The facts, field by field
| Who performs the surgery The hair-mill question — the one that decides everything | —Not specified on the hair transplant page |
| Named physician(s) | Dr. Gregory T. Lynam |
| ABHRS certification The one hair-specific board | —Not stated |
| ISHRS membership | —Not stated |
| Prices published | —Not published |
Our editorial note
A NeoGraft-equipped practice. The hair transplant pages describe the technology in detail but do not state hair-specific credentials or specify which parts of the procedure the physician performs. NeoGraft is a device, not a credential — the question of who operates it remains separate.
What to ask Richmond Surgical Arts at consultation
| Ask | Why |
|---|---|
| Will anyone not licensed by the state be making incisions or harvesting grafts during my surgery? | This is the question the ISHRS puts first. Its position is that preoperative evaluation, surgical planning, donor harvesting, hairline design and recipient site creation should be performed by a licensed physician or physician extender. In practice clinics vary widely, and most patients never ask. |
| Is the physician who will operate on me board certified by the ABHRS? | ABHRS certification is specific to hair restoration and verifiable in a public registry. A surgeon can be an excellent plastic surgeon or dermatologist without holding it — that is not a disqualification, but it is a fact worth knowing, and it is checkable in two minutes rather than taken on trust. |
| Is the operating physician a current ISHRS member I can find in the society’s directory? | Membership in the International Society of Hair Restoration Surgery signals participation in the specialty’s standards-setting body — and the member directory is public, so the claim can be checked in one click rather than read off a logo. |
| Who will evaluate my hair loss and recommend treatment, and what is their licensure? | Hair loss has causes that require diagnosis — androgenetic alopecia, telogen effluvium, scarring alopecias and systemic conditions present differently and respond differently. The ISHRS warns that non-physician evaluation risks misdiagnosis, failure to identify hair disorders or underlying disease, and unnecessary procedures. A consultation that is really a sales appointment is a different thing from a medical evaluation. |
The full printable checklist → · How to verify every claim →
Common questions
Who performs the hair transplant surgery at Richmond Surgical Arts?
Their own pages say: Not specified on the hair transplant page. That statement — not the technique name or the device brand — is the single most important fact to confirm at consultation: ask who makes the recipient-site incisions, who does the extractions, and who places the grafts on your case, by name.
Does Richmond Surgical Arts publish its prices?
Not published. Only 2 of the 22 clinics in our index publish any price, so this is the market norm rather than a red flag by itself — but a real quote should still arrive in writing as rate × evaluated graft count, and our financing calculator turns payment-plan teasers into totals.
How do I verify Richmond Surgical Arts's credentials myself?
Their pages state: ABHRS — Not stated; ISHRS — Not stated. Check any stated certification in the registry that issues it (abhrs.org, ishrs.org — and note IAHRS is a different body one letter away), and the physician's license in the VA state medical board lookup. Stated on a website and verified in a registry are different things; the check takes about a minute per claim.
This profile records what Richmond Surgical Arts's public materials state as of August 2026. It is not a quality rating, not an endorsement, and not medical advice. Corrections happen the same day.